Burg Rabenstein
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Jan Koehn PRO EXPERT MAESTRO Taken 13:04, 04/10/2010 - Views loading...


Burg Rabenstein

The World > Europe > Germany > Bavaria > Franconia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Franconia



od Stefan Huber, 680 meters away

B: Burg Rabeneck

od Jan Koehn, 3.1 km daleko

Burg Rabeneck

C: Wiesent in der Nähe der Burg Rabeneck

od Stefan Huber, 3.2 km daleko

Wiesent in der Nähe der Burg Rabeneck

D: Wiesent in der Nähe der Burg Rabeneck

od Stefan Huber, 3.2 km daleko

Wiesent in der Nähe der Burg Rabeneck


od Stefan Huber, 3.2 km daleko

F: Burgruine Waischenfeld-Schafe

od Stefan Huber, 3.3 km daleko

Burgruine Waischenfeld-Schafe

H: Waischenfeld Castle - outside view

od michael-rohrmueller, 3.3 km daleko

Enjoy an outside view of Waischenfeld-Castle - one of the oldest castles in the Franconian Alps - clo...

Waischenfeld Castle - outside view

I: Tüchersfeld

od Felix Schott, 4.3 km daleko



od MK-SpooN, 5.0 km daleko

This panorama was taken in Franconia

This is an overview of Franconia


Franconia (German: Franken) is a region of Germany comprising the northern parts of the modern state of Bavaria, a small part of southern Thuringia, and a region in northeastern Baden-Württemberg called Heilbronn-Franken. The Bavarian part is made up of the administrative regions of Lower Franconia (Unterfranken), Middle Franconia (Mittelfranken), and Upper Franconia (Oberfranken).

Franconia (like France) is named after the Germanic tribe of the Franks. This tribe played a major role after the breakdown of the Roman Empire and colonised large parts of medieval Europe.

Modern day Franconia comprises only a very tiny and rather remote part of the settlement area of the ancient Franks. In German, Franken is used for both modern day Franconians and the historic Franks, which leads to some confusion. The historic Frankish Empire, Francia, is actually the common precursor of the Low Countries, France and Germany. In 843 the Treaty of Verdun led to the partition of Francia into West Francia (modern day France), Middle Francia (from the Low Countries along the Rhine valley to northern Italy) and East Francia (modern day Germany). Frankreich, the German word for "France", and Frankrijk, the Dutch word for "France"; literally mean "the Frankish Empire".

Share this panorama