Donostia - San Sebastian - Alderdiede...
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by JC Santamaria Taken 13:34, 24/06/2013 - Views loading...


Donostia - San Sebastian - Alderdieder Gardens and City Town Hall

The World > Europe > Spain > Northern Spain

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

Donostia - San Sebastian - Alderdieder Gardens and City Town Hall and view of Concha Bay

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Northern Spain


A: San Sebastian - City Hall

od Carsten Arenz, 20 meters away

The city hall of San Sebastian is situated at the nothern end of the promenade along the bay of San S...

San Sebastian - City Hall

B: City Hall Of San Sebastián

od Martin Duckitt, 50 meters away

City Hall Of San Sebastián

C: Alderdi Eder (paseo maritimo)

od mikelmgm, 50 meters away

Alderdi Eder (paseo maritimo)

D: Ayuntamiento

od mikelmgm, 50 meters away

El ayuntamiento de San Sebastián esta ubicado en la zona mas visitada de la ciudad junto a la parte v...


E: Parque De Alderdi Eder

od mikelmgm, 100 meters away

Parque De Alderdi Eder

F: mio yes

od Hermes Guerra, 110 meters away

linda prueba

mio yes

G: Nautico

od mikelmgm, 130 meters away


H: Puerto Pesquero

od mikelmgm, 140 meters away

 Puerto Pesquero

I: Cristina Enea

od mikelmgm, 140 meters away

Cristina Enea


od Martin Duckitt, 140 meters away

This panorama was taken in Northern Spain, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama