Samos town, Lugo
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Henry Alvarez EXPERT Taken 11:06, 12/09/2009 - Views loading...


Samos town, Lugo

The World > Europe > Spain > Northern Spain

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

El monasterio de San Julián de Samos, fundando en el siglo VI, pertenece a la orden de los benedictinos y está en el municipio del mismo nombre, en la provincia de Lugo. El monasterio fue colegio de Teología y Filosofía y es parada importante del Camino de Santiago, ya que cuenta con una hospedería.

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Northern Spain


A: Samos town & Monastery

od Henry Alvarez, 60 meters away

The monastery of San Julián de Samos, founded in the sixth century, belongs to the Benedictine order ...

Samos town & Monastery

B: Samos Monastery, Front door

od Henry Alvarez, 150 meters away

Samos Monastery, Front door

C: pazo-gallego 2 -of-o-corgo

od jose-ignacio-teran, 21.6 km daleko

pazo-gallego 2 -of-o-corgo

D: Pazo gallego of O Corgo

od jose-ignacio-teran, 21.7 km daleko

Pazo gallego of O Corgo

E: Pazo gallego 3 of O Corgo

od jose-ignacio-teran, 21.7 km daleko

Pazo gallego 3 of O Corgo

F: pazo-gallego-12-of-o-corgo

od jose-ignacio-teran, 21.7 km daleko


G: pazo-gallego-4-of-o-corgo

od jose-ignacio-teran, 21.7 km daleko


H: pazo-gallego-7-of-o-corgo

od jose-ignacio-teran, 21.7 km daleko


I: pazo-gallego-6-of-o-corgo

od jose-ignacio-teran, 21.7 km daleko


J: Pazo gallego 5 of O Corgo

od jose-ignacio-teran, 21.7 km daleko

Pazo gallego 5 of O Corgo

This panorama was taken in Northern Spain, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama