Jan Matejko's House
Jan Matejko's House

The village of Krzesławice was first mentioned in the 13th century. During its history it was in the hands of the Miechów Chapter of the Guardians of the Holy Sepulchre and of the University of Krakow. After the year 1788, it belonged to an eminent representative of the Polish Enlightenment, Hugo Kołłątaj, and after the year 1822, to the Kirchmayer merchant and banker family. In 1876, the new manor house erected by J. K Kirchmayer to replace the wooden one built at the time of Hugo Kołłataj, was purchased by the painter Jan Matejko, who renovated and expanded it by adding a summer studio and porch he designed himself. Since the year 1959, the manor has belonged to Towarzystwo Przyjaciół Sztuk Pięknych (Society of Friends of the Fine Arts) and has housed a reconstruction of Jan Matejko's living room and Hugo Kołłątaj's study. In front of the manor, a bronze bust of Matejko by Cz. Dźwigaj (1994). (from http://www.krakow.pl/en/turystyka/content.php?id=trasy/trasa_nowohucka/trasa.html)

View More »

Copyright: Karol Kwiatek
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 5000x2500
Taken: 31/07/2008
Uploaded: 04/09/2008
Updated: 28/02/2015


Tags: countryside; landmark; street
comments powered by Disqus
More About Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights. In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. Text by Steve Smith.