St. Luke Monastery. Monument
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by VirtualCrimea EXPERT Taken 09:12, 13/12/2011 - Views loading...


St. Luke Monastery. Monument

The World > Europe > Ukraine

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Ukraine


A: fields village Vysokoe

by Eryomin Pavel Sergeevich, 510 meters away

fields village Vysokoe

B: The fields near the village Vysokoe

by Eryomin Pavel Sergeevich, 1.6 km away

The fields near the village Vysokoe

C: Crimean lakes

by Eryomin Pavel Sergeevich, 2.0 km away

Crimean lakes

D: Crimean hills

by Eryomin Pavel Sergeevich, 3.8 km away

Crimean hills

E: Tepe-Kermen. Plateau edge

by VirtualCrimea, 5.7 km away

Tepe-Kermen. Plateau edge

F: Tepe-Kermen. Path to caves

by VirtualCrimea, 5.7 km away

Tepe-Kermen. Path to caves

G: Tepe-Kermen. sunrise

by Maxa Fedyai, 5.7 km away

Tepe-Kermen. sunrise

I: Tepe-Kermen. Lower caves

by VirtualCrimea, 5.7 km away

Tepe-Kermen. Lower caves

J: tepe-kermen. in the lower cave

by Maxa Fedyai, 5.8 km away

tepe-kermen. in the lower cave

This panorama was taken in Ukraine, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama