City Museum of Split
License license
Loading ...

Photo panoramique par Darko Rom EXPERT Pris 11:31, 21/09/2008 - Views loading...


City Museum of Split

The World > Europe > Croatia

Tags: museum, split

  • J'aime / J'aime pas
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Images à proximité de Croatia


A: Split inner walls

Par Kostas Vassiliou, à 30 mètres

View of Split inner walls in Croatia

Split inner walls

B: St. Duje Cathedral

Par Igor Adamec, à 70 mètres

Cathedral of St. Duje in Split

St. Duje Cathedral

C: Split (Golden Gate)

Par Armin Leuprecht, à 70 mètres

Split (Golden Gate)

D: View over Split

Par Armin Leuprecht, à 70 mètres

View over Split

E: Split, Diocletian's Palace

Par Atila Bezdan, à 90 mètres

Split, Diocletian's Palace

G: Cathedral of Split

Par Armin Leuprecht, à 100 mètres

Cathedral of Split

H: At Diocletian's Palace HDR

Par Saulius Baublys, à 110 mètres

Diocletian's Palace (Croatian: Dioklecijanova palača, pronounced [diɔklɛt͡sijǎːnɔʋa pǎlat͡ʃa]) is a b...

At Diocletian's Palace HDR

I: Vestibul

Par Darko Rom, à 120 mètres

Vestibul in Diocletian palace


J: Diocletian palace

Par Darko Rom, à 130 mètres

Diocletian palace

Ce panorama é été pris à Croatia, Europe

Ceci est un aperçu de Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Partager ce panorama