Lviv 017
License license
Loading ...

Photo panoramique par Denny A. Ovchar EXPERT Pris 09:25, 08/04/2009 - Views loading...


Lviv 017

The World > Europe > Ukraine > L'viv

  • J'aime / J'aime pas
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Images à proximité de L'viv


A: Lvov, Fedorov monument

Par Pavel Suprun, à 20 mètres

Lvov, Ukraine, Ivan Fedorov (the printer) monument. Watch for architectural vandalism in historical p...

Lvov, Fedorov monument

B: Moonlight over Uspenian church

Par Denny A. Ovchar, à 20 mètres

Moonlight over Uspenian church

C: Book bazaar - Lviv

Par Andrey Golubev, à 20 mètres

Book bazaar - Lviv

E: Dominican Cathedral, Museumplane - Lviv

Par Andrey Golubev, à 30 mètres

Dominican Cathedral, Museumplane - Lviv

F: Inside Dominican cathedral in Lviv. 021

Par Denny A. Ovchar, à 50 mètres

Inside Dominican cathedral in Lviv. 021

G: Lviv 016

Par Denny A. Ovchar, à 60 mètres

Lviv 016

H: Lviv 015

Par Denny A. Ovchar, à 60 mètres

Lviv 015

I: Inside Dominican cathedral in Lviv. 020

Par Denny A. Ovchar, à 60 mètres

Inside Dominican cathedral in Lviv. 020

Ce panorama é été pris à L'viv, Europe

Ceci est un aperçu de Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Partager ce panorama