Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Share this panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Read more
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contact us
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contact us
License this Panorama

Enhances advertising, editorial, film, video, TV, Websites, and mobile experiences.



0489 20120814 Kreta Heraklion 5

Heraklion - auch Iraklio oder Iraklion - (120.000 Einwohner) ist die größte Stadt auf Kreta und die fünftgrößte Stadt Griechenlands. Während der minoischen Zeit war es der berühmte Hafen von Knossos. Heute ist es  die Hauptstadt von Kreta. Viele Touristen finden die Stadt häßlich, andere jedoch lieben Heraklion. Im Zentrum befindet sich eine kleine, sehr schöne Altstadt.

Sehenswürdigkeiten:  Der Hafen von Heraklion war einst einer der wichtigsten Häfen zur venezianischen Zeit. Das große Denkmal von Koules überragt den Hafen.

Vom Hafen aus kommt man auf der zentralen Strasse (Strasse des 25.August) in die etwas höher gelegene Altstadt.  

Diese Straße endet auf dem Platz Elefteriou Venezilou. Auf diesem Platz ist der venezianische Brunnen Morozini (auch bekannt unter dem Namen Löwenbrunnen). Dieser gilt für die meisten als das Zentrum der Stadt. In der Altstadt ist auf einem großen Platz die bekannte Kirche Agios Titos. Auf dem selben Platz befindet sich die berühmte historische Stadtbücherei Vikelea.

Archäologische Museum: Auf alle Fälle das wichtigste Museum Kretas. Es beherbergt viele Funde aus dem minoischen Palast von Knossos. (Quelle:

Copyright: Mike Weidner Www.Panomorph.De
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 9056x4528
Taken: 14/08/2012
Uploaded: 05/02/2013
Updated: 04/04/2015


Tags: agios; titos; altstadt; kirche; kreta; heraklion; iraklio
comments powered by Disqus
More About Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights. In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. Text by Steve Smith.