Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Günther Roth EXPERT Taken 11:55, 18/05/2013 - Views loading...


The World > Europe > Germany > Bavaria > Franconia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Franconia


A: Ruine Rotenhan

by Thomas Müller, 1.0 km away

Ruine Rotenhan

B: sesslach-stadttor-svk-design

by sven-kaufmann, 9.7 km away



C: sesslach-gutshof-svk-design

by sven-kaufmann, 9.8 km away



D: 12 07 18 0145 Ruine Bramberg

by Günther Roth, 10.6 km away

12 07 18 0145 Ruine Bramberg


by Günther Roth, 15.4 km away

F: Town square

by Günther Roth, 15.5 km away

Town square


by G. Hoecherich, 17.2 km away

H: Koesten Village

by Five Minutes, 18.7 km away

Koesten Viewpoint above the Main Valley

Koesten Village

I: Lichtenfels Lower Gate

by Five Minutes, 20.3 km away

Lower gate tower of the city of Lichtenfels. Opposite is the museum of the city. Following the road y...

Lichtenfels Lower Gate

J: Lichtenfels Shopping Street

by Five Minutes, 20.3 km away

Shopping in Lichtenfels

Lichtenfels Shopping Street

This panorama was taken in Franconia

This is an overview of Franconia


Franconia (German: Franken) is a region of Germany comprising the northern parts of the modern state of Bavaria, a small part of southern Thuringia, and a region in northeastern Baden-Württemberg called Heilbronn-Franken. The Bavarian part is made up of the administrative regions of Lower Franconia (Unterfranken), Middle Franconia (Mittelfranken), and Upper Franconia (Oberfranken).

Franconia (like France) is named after the Germanic tribe of the Franks. This tribe played a major role after the breakdown of the Roman Empire and colonised large parts of medieval Europe.

Modern day Franconia comprises only a very tiny and rather remote part of the settlement area of the ancient Franks. In German, Franken is used for both modern day Franconians and the historic Franks, which leads to some confusion. The historic Frankish Empire, Francia, is actually the common precursor of the Low Countries, France and Germany. In 843 the Treaty of Verdun led to the partition of Francia into West Francia (modern day France), Middle Francia (from the Low Countries along the Rhine valley to northern Italy) and East Francia (modern day Germany). Frankreich, the German word for "France", and Frankrijk, the Dutch word for "France"; literally mean "the Frankish Empire".

Share this panorama