Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Kepa Blanco Taken 08:06, 10/04/2014 - Views loading...


The World > Europe > Spain > Northern Spain

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

Algorta es un barrio del municipio vizcaíno de Guecho, situado en el País Vasco, en la provincia de Vizcaya, España. Es el mayor 

núcleo poblacional del municipio con alrededor de 40.000 habitantes. Su centro neurálgico es la Plaza de la Estación o Plaza del 

Metro en la calle Telleche (Telletxe en vasco). En dicha zona se encuentra la mayor parte del comercio algorteño. Algorta se 

articula en torno a la Avenida Basagoiti (peatonal), que une las dos principales plazas históricas del pueblo, la plaza San 

Nicolás y la plaza San Ignacio. Algorta pese a ser un barrio de Getxo resulta ser un núcleo muy diverso, siendo un barrio con 

barrios. Algunos de sus barrios son, Sarrikobaso: barrio colindante con el de Santa María. Se trata del barrio con mayor densidad 

de población de Algorta y se articula principalmente en torno a dos calles: Sarrikobaso y Bidezabal. En este barrio se encuentra 

la parada de metro de Bidezabal y el Centro de Salud de Algorta.

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Northern Spain



by Kepa Blanco, 30 meters away

B: Arrigunaga beach today

by Arturo Elias, 400 meters away

Arrigunaga beach today

C: Arrigunaga Beach 2

by Arturo Elias, 460 meters away

Arrigunaga Beach 2

D: Arrigunaga Beach

by Arturo Elias, 470 meters away

Playa de Arrigunaga (Getxo)

Arrigunaga Beach


by Kepa Blanco, 650 meters away

F: Portu Zaharra - Getxo

by koldo gorrotxategi, 1.2 km away

Portu Zaharra - Getxo

G: Puerto Deportivo de Getxo

by koldo gorrotxategi, 2.3 km away

Puerto Deportivo de Getxo

H: Aita 1 Panorama

by Pablo de Lapatza, 2.8 km away

Aita 1 Panorama

I: Areetako Ondartza

by koldo gorrotxategi, 3.7 km away

Areetako Ondartza

J: Puente De Vizcaya (1)

by David Hernandez, 4.0 km away

Puente De Vizcaya (1)

This panorama was taken in Northern Spain, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama