Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Share this panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Read more
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contact us
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contact us
License this Panorama

Enhances advertising, editorial, film, video, TV, Websites, and mobile experiences.



Basílica de San Francisco el Grande

San Francisco el Grande es una basílica que se encuentra en la ciudad de Madrid. Se construyó en el siglo XVIII y es de estilo neoclásico. El lugar estuvo ocupado anteriormente por un convento franciscano que, según la leyenda, fue fundado por San Francisco de Asís en 1217. Cuando Felipe II convirtió Madrid en capital del reino, en 1561, el convento ganó en riqueza e importancia y se le nombró custodio de los Santos Lugares conquistados por los cruzados. En 1760, Carlos III ordenó que el convento fuera reemplazado por una iglesia neoclásica. El arquitecto Francisco Cabezas diseñó una cúpula de más de 33 m de diámetro y 70 de altura, la tercera más grande de Europa (después de San Pedro y Santa Sofía), pero las obras tuvieron que suspenderse en 1768 debido a las complicaciones generadas por sus enormes proporciones. La obra fue terminada por Francesco Sabatini en 1784.

Copyright: Daniel Font
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 6324x3162
Taken: 25/09/2011
Uploaded: 29/09/2011
Updated: 23/03/2015


Tags: iglesia; basilica; monumento
comments powered by Disqus
More About Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights. In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. Text by Steve Smith.