Bieberbach Osterbrunnen
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Jan Koehn PRO EXPERT MAESTRO Taken 12:23, 03/04/2010 - Views loading...


Bieberbach Osterbrunnen

The World > Europe > Germany > Bavaria > Franconia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Franconia


A: Bieberbach Osterbrunnen

by Jan Koehn, less than 10 meters away

Bieberbach Osterbrunnen

B: Castle Egloffstein and church

by Günther Roth, 3.9 km away

Castle Egloffstein and church


by Stefan Huber, 4.7 km away

D: Hundshaupten - Herbstwald

by Jan Koehn, 4.7 km away

Hundshaupten - Herbstwald

E: Hundshaupten - Autumforrest

by Jan Koehn, 4.7 km away

Hundshaupten - Autumforrest


by Stefan Huber, 4.7 km away

G: Osterbrunnen Moggast 2012

by Stefan Huber, 4.8 km away

Osterbrunnen Moggast 2012

H: Christmas Market with family Kormann

by Günther Roth, 4.8 km away

Christmas Market with family Kormann

I: Wiesent bei Beringersmühle

by Stefan Huber, 5.1 km away

Wiesent bei Beringersmühle

J: Surfer auf der Wiesent

by Stefan Huber, 5.1 km away

Surfer auf der Wiesent

This panorama was taken in Franconia

This is an overview of Franconia


Franconia (German: Franken) is a region of Germany comprising the northern parts of the modern state of Bavaria, a small part of southern Thuringia, and a region in northeastern Baden-Württemberg called Heilbronn-Franken. The Bavarian part is made up of the administrative regions of Lower Franconia (Unterfranken), Middle Franconia (Mittelfranken), and Upper Franconia (Oberfranken).

Franconia (like France) is named after the Germanic tribe of the Franks. This tribe played a major role after the breakdown of the Roman Empire and colonised large parts of medieval Europe.

Modern day Franconia comprises only a very tiny and rather remote part of the settlement area of the ancient Franks. In German, Franken is used for both modern day Franconians and the historic Franks, which leads to some confusion. The historic Frankish Empire, Francia, is actually the common precursor of the Low Countries, France and Germany. In 843 the Treaty of Verdun led to the partition of Francia into West Francia (modern day France), Middle Francia (from the Low Countries along the Rhine valley to northern Italy) and East Francia (modern day Germany). Frankreich, the German word for "France", and Frankrijk, the Dutch word for "France"; literally mean "the Frankish Empire".

Share this panorama