Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy, Tatry
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Ursula & David Molenda EXPERT Taken 14:10, 04/09/2013 - Views loading...


Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy, Tatry

The World > Europe > Poland

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Poland


A: Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

by Maciej G. Szling, 30 meters away

Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

B: Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

by Maciej G. Szling, 200 meters away

Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

C: Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

by Maciej G. Szling, 220 meters away

Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

D: Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

by Maciej G. Szling, 220 meters away

Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

E: Black Lake Gasienicowy

by Sandor Veress, 250 meters away

The Tatra Mountains, located at both sides of Polish and Slovak border are part of the Carpathian Mou...

Black Lake Gasienicowy

F: Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

by Maciej G. Szling, 310 meters away

Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

G: pod Kościelcem

by Maciej G. Szling, 380 meters away

pod Kościelcem

H: na szlaku

by Maciej G. Szling, 490 meters away

na szlaku

I: Dolina Gąsienicowa

by Maciej G. Szling, 500 meters away

Dolina Gąsienicowa

J: Świt w Tatrach

by Maciej G. Szling, 520 meters away

Świt w Tatrach

This panorama was taken in Poland, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama