Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Maciej G. Szling EXPERT Taken 11:46, 07/03/2010 - Views loading...


Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

The World > Europe > Poland

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Poland


A: Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

by Maciej G. Szling, 40 meters away

Czarny Staw Gąsienicowy

B: w tatrach

by Maciej G. Szling, 170 meters away

w tatrach

C: Panorama na Czarny Staw

by Maciej G. Szling, 290 meters away

Panorama na Czarny Staw

D: Dolina Gąsienicowa

by Maciej G. Szling, 350 meters away

Dolina Gąsienicowa

E: Zmarzły Staw

by Maciej G. Szling, 370 meters away

Zmarzły Staw

F: Zmarzły Staw

by Maciej G. Szling, 380 meters away

Zmarzły Staw

G: Kozia Dolinak rozwidlenie szlaków

by Maciej G. Szling, 490 meters away

Kozia Dolinak rozwidlenie szlaków

H: Kościelec 2155 m n.p.m

by Maciej G. Szling, 610 meters away

Kościelec 2155 m n.p.m

I: Na szlaku

by Maciej G. Szling, 640 meters away

Na szlaku

J: Szlak na Granaty

by Maciej G. Szling, 670 meters away

Szlak na Granaty

This panorama was taken in Poland, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama