Burgruine Neideck - Bridge
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Jan Koehn PRO EXPERT MAESTRO Taken 15:24, 04/10/2010 - Views loading...


Burgruine Neideck - Bridge

The World > Europe > Germany > Bavaria > Franconia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Franconia


A: Burgruine Neideck - Well

by Jan Koehn, 20 meters away

Burgruine Neideck - Well

B: Burgruine Neideck

by Jan Koehn, 30 meters away

Burgruine Neideck

C: Burgruine Neideck - Tower

by Jan Koehn, 40 meters away

Burgruine Neideck  - Tower

D: Burgruine Neideck - Tower

by Jan Koehn, 40 meters away

Burgruine Neideck - Tower

E: Burgruine Neideck - Tree

by Jan Koehn, 40 meters away

Burgruine Neideck - Tree

F: Bank bei Streitberg

by Stefan Huber, 460 meters away

Bank bei Streitberg


by Stefan Huber, 460 meters away

H: Burgruine Streitberg

by Jan Koehn, 920 meters away

Burgruine Streitberg

I: Birkenreuther Wand

by Udo Lenkewicz, 2.5 km away

Birkenreuther Wand

J: Am Hohlen Berg bei Muggendorf

by Stefan Huber, 2.8 km away

Am Hohlen Berg bei Muggendorf

This panorama was taken in Franconia

This is an overview of Franconia


Franconia (German: Franken) is a region of Germany comprising the northern parts of the modern state of Bavaria, a small part of southern Thuringia, and a region in northeastern Baden-Württemberg called Heilbronn-Franken. The Bavarian part is made up of the administrative regions of Lower Franconia (Unterfranken), Middle Franconia (Mittelfranken), and Upper Franconia (Oberfranken).

Franconia (like France) is named after the Germanic tribe of the Franks. This tribe played a major role after the breakdown of the Roman Empire and colonised large parts of medieval Europe.

Modern day Franconia comprises only a very tiny and rather remote part of the settlement area of the ancient Franks. In German, Franken is used for both modern day Franconians and the historic Franks, which leads to some confusion. The historic Frankish Empire, Francia, is actually the common precursor of the Low Countries, France and Germany. In 843 the Treaty of Verdun led to the partition of Francia into West Francia (modern day France), Middle Francia (from the Low Countries along the Rhine valley to northern Italy) and East Francia (modern day Germany). Frankreich, the German word for "France", and Frankrijk, the Dutch word for "France"; literally mean "the Frankish Empire".

Share this panorama