Castle Goessweinstein - Chapel
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Jan Koehn PRO EXPERT MAESTRO Taken 10:00, 04/10/2011 - Views loading...


Castle Goessweinstein - Chapel

The World > Europe > Germany > Bavaria > Franconia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Franconia


A: Burg Kapelle

by Jan Koehn, 10 meters away

Burg Kapelle

B: Castle Courtyard - Goessweinstein

by Jan Koehn, 10 meters away

Castle Courtyard - Goessweinstein

D: Hotel Gasthof Stern - Entrance

by Jan Koehn, 170 meters away

Hotel Gasthof Stern - Entrance

E: Basilika Goessweinstein - 2

by Jan Koehn, 170 meters away

Basilika Goessweinstein - 2

F: Basilika Goessweinstein

by Jan Koehn, 170 meters away

Basilika Goessweinstein

G: Burg Goessweinstein - armory

by Jan Koehn, 190 meters away

Burg Goessweinstein - armory

H: Hotel Gasthof Stern - Beergarden

by Jan Koehn, 200 meters away

Hotel Gasthof Stern - Beergarden


by Günther Roth, 200 meters away


by Stefan Huber, 410 meters away

This panorama was taken in Franconia

This is an overview of Franconia


Franconia (German: Franken) is a region of Germany comprising the northern parts of the modern state of Bavaria, a small part of southern Thuringia, and a region in northeastern Baden-Württemberg called Heilbronn-Franken. The Bavarian part is made up of the administrative regions of Lower Franconia (Unterfranken), Middle Franconia (Mittelfranken), and Upper Franconia (Oberfranken).

Franconia (like France) is named after the Germanic tribe of the Franks. This tribe played a major role after the breakdown of the Roman Empire and colonised large parts of medieval Europe.

Modern day Franconia comprises only a very tiny and rather remote part of the settlement area of the ancient Franks. In German, Franken is used for both modern day Franconians and the historic Franks, which leads to some confusion. The historic Frankish Empire, Francia, is actually the common precursor of the Low Countries, France and Germany. In 843 the Treaty of Verdun led to the partition of Francia into West Francia (modern day France), Middle Francia (from the Low Countries along the Rhine valley to northern Italy) and East Francia (modern day Germany). Frankreich, the German word for "France", and Frankrijk, the Dutch word for "France"; literally mean "the Frankish Empire".

Share this panorama