Dsc 0437 Panorama
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Siempre peligroso Taken 11:34, 14/08/2012 - Views loading...


Dsc 0437 Panorama

The World > Europe > Spain > Northern Spain

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Northern Spain


A: Dsc 0505 Panorama

by Siempre peligroso, less than 10 meters away

Dsc 0505 Panorama

B: Dsc 0518 Panorama

by Siempre peligroso, 60 meters away

Dsc 0518 Panorama

C: Panorama Ayt

by Siempre peligroso, 170 meters away

Panorama Ayt

D: vado

by Siempre peligroso, 1.7 km away


E: Pano Vado

by Siempre peligroso, 1.7 km away

Pano Vado

F: Dsc 0408 Panorama

by Siempre peligroso, 2.7 km away

Dsc 0408 Panorama

G: Pantano Ruesga

by Siempre peligroso, 3.3 km away

Pantano Ruesga

H: Villanueva del Rio

by Miguel Angel, 13.4 km away

The town of Villanueva del Río was submerged under the waters of the Aguilar´s reservoir when it got ...

Villanueva del Rio

I: Matamorisca church

by Miguel Angel, 15.8 km away

The church of San Juan Bautista de Matamorisca is a rectangular building consisting of two naves sepa...

Matamorisca church

J: Ribero Pintado 1

by Miguel Angel, 17.5 km away

To approximately 3 km from Santa Maria de Redondo or only 2 km if we leave the car at the entry of a ...

Ribero Pintado 1

This panorama was taken in Northern Spain, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama