The Terrible Forest
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by MoUzEs- Maciej J. Lorek EXPERT Taken 09:54, 13/12/2013 - Views loading...


The Terrible Forest

The World > Europe > Denmark

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Denmark


A: Lidemark, Forest

by MoUzEs- Maciej J. Lorek, 120 meters away

Lidemark, Forest

B: In the Spruceforest

by MoUzEs- Maciej J. Lorek, 2.3 km away

In the Spruceforest

C: Atmosphere Of The Future

by MoUzEs- Maciej J. Lorek, 3.4 km away

Atmosphere Of The Future

D: April in The Woods

by MoUzEs- Maciej J. Lorek, 4.5 km away

April in The Woods

E: Summer in Lellinge skov

by MoUzEs- Maciej J. Lorek, 4.8 km away

Summer in Lellinge skov

F: Lellinge Skov

by MoUzEs- Maciej J. Lorek, 4.9 km away

Lellinge Skov

G: Harley Davidson Club Bjæverskov Denmark

by Carsten Larsen, 5.2 km away

Harley Davidson Club Bjæverskov Denmark

H: Green Tunnel

by MoUzEs- Maciej J. Lorek, 5.4 km away

Green Tunnel

I: Koge, Hastrup,Langelandsvej in winter

by MoUzEs- Maciej J. Lorek, 5.4 km away

Koge, Hastrup,Langelandsvej  in winter

J: Koge, Hastrup ponds

by MoUzEs- Maciej J. Lorek, 5.6 km away

Koge, Hastrup ponds

This panorama was taken in Denmark, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama