Commissioned in 1834 was the construction of a new bridge over the steep sided Longbrook Valley, immediately in front of the Exeter's North Gate. The ancient gate had been removed in 1769 to open up this entrance to the city.
The original approach road to the city, Lower North Street was narrow and difficult for horse drawn vehicles. Up to twenty pairs of horse drawn carts carrying lime from the lime kilns in St Leonards area would pass up South Street, and down the 10 ft wide North Street and Lower North Street, creating blockages, on their way to St David's Down and beyond.
It is a stunning bridge that Exeter is now proud to own, not far from the city centre and is well worth a visit.