License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by I.P.C. Taken 17:56, 15/04/2013 - Views loading...



The World > Europe > Spain > Northern Spain

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Northern Spain


A: Plaza 1º Mayo en Ortuella

by I.P.C., 30 meters away

Plaza 1º Mayo en Ortuella

B: Plaza 1º de Mayo - Ortuella

by I.P.C., 40 meters away

Vista, desde el pórtico de la iglesia de San Félix, de la Plaza 1º de Mayo en Ortuella, con el Ayunta...

Plaza 1º de Mayo - Ortuella

C: Ayega 1

by I.P.C., 1.2 km away

Ayega 1

D: Ayega

by I.P.C., 1.2 km away


E: Serantes

by Juan Carlos M. Cancela, 2.7 km away

Panorámica tomada desde la cumbre del monte Serantes en Santurtzi, Bizkaia. Imponente vista. Entre ot...


F: Puente Colgante, Portugalete.

by Kerman Rodríguez, 3.0 km away

El famoso Puente Colgante de Portugalete, que cruza la Ría del Nervión.

Puente Colgante, Portugalete.

G: bizcaya bridge in bilbao

by luis davilla, 3.5 km away

bizcaya bridge in bilbao, spain

bizcaya bridge in bilbao

H: vizcaya bridge in bilbao, spain

by luis davilla, 3.5 km away

vizcaya bridge in bilbao, spain

vizcaya bridge in bilbao, spain


by David Hernandez, 3.6 km away


J: Puente De Vizcaya (1)

by David Hernandez, 3.6 km away

Puente De Vizcaya (1)

This panorama was taken in Northern Spain, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama