Fortín Azkorriaga
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Juan Carlos M. Cancela Taken 10:25, 09/12/2012 - Views loading...


Fortín Azkorriaga

The World > Europe > Spain > Northern Spain

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

Ruinas del Fortín de Azkorriaga. En el acantilado que discurre entre Gorliz y Armintza.

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Northern Spain


A: Pinar

by Arturo Elias, 1.2 km away


B: Faro Billano

by Juan Carlos M. Cancela, 1.5 km away

Asentamiento de cañón en la antigua línea defensiva de costa. Protegía la entrada al puerto de Bilbao...

Faro Billano

C: Pizzeria Toto - Sopelana, Calle Bentatxu nº 1

by borja inchausti, 5.0 km away

La pizzeria Totó en Sopelana, dispone de una excelente carta de pizzas y deliciosos platos para lleva...

Pizzeria Toto - Sopelana, Calle Bentatxu nº 1

D: Castillo De Butron

by David Hernandez, 6.5 km away

Castillo De Butron

E: Nuclear Power Plant (Closed)

by David Hernandez, 6.8 km away

Nuclear Power Plant (Closed)

F: Virgen de Unbe

by Arturo Elias, 8.8 km away

Virgen de Unbe


by Kepa Blanco, 8.8 km away


by Kepa Blanco, 8.8 km away

I: Arrigunaga beach today

by Arturo Elias, 9.0 km away

Arrigunaga beach today

J: Arrigunaga Beach 2

by Arturo Elias, 9.1 km away

Arrigunaga Beach 2

This panorama was taken in Northern Spain, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama