Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Frans Frowijn EXPERT Taken 14:19, 12/03/2011 - Views loading...



The World > Europe > Netherlands

Tags: grafitti

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in


A: amsterdamse poort

by Frans Frowijn, 120 meters away

amsterdamse poort

amsterdamse poort

B: Amsterdamse Poort

by Teake van Popta, 130 meters away

Amsterdamse Poort

C: Galerie KNH

by Frans Frowijn, 180 meters away

Galerie KNH

D: Dome shaped prison, Haarlem (2009)

by Bo de Visser, 220 meters away

Dome shaped prison, Haarlem (2009)

E: haarlem teylershof 1

by Frans Frowijn, 240 meters away

haarlem teylershof 1

F: Houtmarkt, Haarlem

by Tony LUJIEN, 270 meters away

Houtmarkt, Haarlem

G: haarlem molen de adriaan 1

by Frans Frowijn, 350 meters away

haarlem molen de adriaan 1

H: haarlem molen de adriaan 2

by Frans Frowijn, 350 meters away

haarlem molen de adriaan 2

I: haarlem molen de adriaan interior 1

by Frans Frowijn, 360 meters away

haarlem molen de adriaan interior 1

J: Drawbridge

by Tom! Striewisch, 400 meters away


This panorama was taken in, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama