Grand hotel - Stary Smokovec
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Martin Berta EXPERT Taken 14:19, 22/03/2009 - Views loading...


Grand hotel - Stary Smokovec

The World > Europe > Slovakia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

STARY SMOKOVEC founded in 1793, 990 meters above sea level.
The town was originally settled around mineral springs, which tourists still enjoy today.

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Slovakia


A: Pano Vysoke Tatry Stary Smokovec

by Chris Philippi, 70 meters away

Pano Vysoke Tatry Stary Smokovec

B: Stary Smokovec - Hrebienok

by Maciej G. Szling, 190 meters away

Stary Smokovec - Hrebienok

C: Vysoké Tatry - Cesta na Rysy

by David Hotař, 280 meters away

Vysoké Tatry - Cesta na Rysy

D: Chata pod Rysmi, Vysoké Tatry

by David Hotař, 280 meters away

Chata pod Rysmi, Vysoké Tatry

E: Pano Vysoke Tatry

by Chris Philippi, 460 meters away

Pano Vysoke Tatry

F: Sunrise Hrebeniok

by Maciej G. Szling, 830 meters away

Sunrise Hrebeniok


by Andrej Krížik, 870 meters away

Nepocujuci podnikatelia 

H: Hrebienok

by Maciej G. Szling, 2.1 km away


I: Hrebienok Bilíkova chata

by Maciej G. Szling, 2.2 km away

Hrebienok Bilíkova chata

This panorama was taken in Slovakia, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama