Lavertezzo Ponte Romano
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by EXPERT Taken 08:59, 02/01/2010 - Views loading...


Lavertezzo Ponte Romano

The World > Europe > Switzerland

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

To view the complete virtual tour visit

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Switzerland


A: Ponte dei Salti

by Dieter Hofer, 20 meters away

Ponte dei Salti

B: Ponte Romano A Lavertezzo

by, 30 meters away

To view the complete virtual tour visit

Ponte Romano A Lavertezzo

C: Verzasca Valley - Ponte dei Salti

by Ruediger Kottmann, 50 meters away

Verzasca Valley - Ponte dei Salti

D: Ponti dei Salti

by Victor-Paulino, 60 meters away

Ponti dei Salti

E: Valle Verzasca near ponte dei Salti

by Ruediger Kottmann, 100 meters away

Valle Verzasca near ponte dei Salti

F: Ponte dei Salti, Lavertezzo, Valle Verzasca

by Assaf Spiegler, 100 meters away

View of Ponte dei Salti in Lavertezzo, Valle Verzasca. Built in the XVII century and usually reffered...

Ponte dei Salti, Lavertezzo, Valle Verzasca

G: Verzasca -Tal

by Christoph Giebeler, 540 meters away

Verzasca -Tal

H: Verzasca Valley

by Ruediger Kottmann, 1.0 km away

Verzasca Valley

I: Valle Verzasca

by Ruediger Kottmann, 4.1 km away

Valle Verzasca

J: Valle Verzasca

by Ruediger Kottmann, 4.2 km away

Valle Verzasca

This panorama was taken in Switzerland, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama