Loading ...

Panoramic photo by josu barandiaran EXPERT Taken 14:07, 06/04/2011 - Views loading...



The World > Europe > Spain > Northern Spain

Tags: village, mountain, sea

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

Small village of Lezo, nor far from the capital town of Gipuzkoa, Donostia (San Sebastian). It is close to the Jaizkibel mountain and to the sea. Some streets keep the charm of the old times.

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Northern Spain


A: Oiartzun river in Renteria

by Martin Duckitt, 880 meters away

Oiartzun river in Renteria

B: Kaputxinos

by mikelmgm, 1,000 meters away


C: San Juan

by mikelmgm, 1.5 km away

San Juan

D: Img 153041

by josu barandiaran, 1.5 km away

Img 153041

E: Pasajes de San Juan

by mikelmgm, 1.5 km away

Pasajes de San Juan

F: San Juan 3

by mikelmgm, 1.6 km away

San Juan 3

G: Pasai Donibane

by josu barandiaran, 1.7 km away

Small village by the sea in the north of the Basque Country. It lies just between the Jaizkibel mount...

Pasai Donibane

H: Pasajes de San Juan

by mikelmgm, 1.8 km away

Pasajes de San Juan

I: Pasajes de San Juan

by mikelmgm, 1.8 km away

Pasajes de San Juan

J: Pasajes de San Juan

by mikelmgm, 1.9 km away

Pasajes de San Juan

This panorama was taken in Northern Spain, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama