Litworowe Pleso
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Maciej G. Szling EXPERT Taken 11:38, 01/10/2011 - Views loading...


Litworowe Pleso

The World > Europe > Slovakia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Slovakia


A: Słowacja Litvorove pleso

by Maciej G. Szling, 150 meters away

Słowacja Litvorove pleso

B: Słowacja Litvorová dolina

by Maciej G. Szling, 410 meters away

Słowacja Litvorová dolina

C: Dolina Świstowa

by Maciej G. Szling, 470 meters away

Dolina Świstowa

D: Zelené Kačacie pleso

by Maciej G. Szling, 730 meters away

Zelené Kačacie pleso

E: Polsky hreben - Tatry

by Petr Kolčář, 960 meters away

Polsky hreben - 2.200 m. 2 hours from Sliezsky hut. 45 min to Vychodna Vysoka summit.

Polsky hreben - Tatry

F: High Tatras - Polsky hreben

by Marek Lomnicky, 990 meters away

Beautiful autum view from Polsky hreben in the center of Vysoke Tatry. In the south-west there is Ger...

High Tatras - Polsky hreben

G: Rohatka 2288 m n.p.m.

by Maciej G. Szling, 1.2 km away

Rohatka 2288 m n.p.m.

H: Sedlo Prielom

by Maciej G. Szling, 1.4 km away

Sedlo Prielom

I: Dolina Białej Wody

by Maciej G. Szling, 1.7 km away

Dolina Białej Wody

J: Kotlinka Pod Przełomem

by Maciej G. Szling, 2.1 km away

Kotlinka Pod Przełomem

This panorama was taken in Slovakia, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama