License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by mikelmgm EXPERT Taken 13:55, 02/09/2010 - Views loading...



The World > Europe > Spain > Northern Spain

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Northern Spain


A: Donostia - San Sebastian - Alderdieder Gardens and City Town Hall

by JC Santamaria, 130 meters away

Donostia - San Sebastian - Alderdieder Gardens and City Town Hall and view of Concha Bay

Donostia - San Sebastian - Alderdieder Gardens and City Town Hall

B: San Sebastian - City Hall

by Carsten Arenz, 140 meters away

The city hall of San Sebastian is situated at the nothern end of the promenade along the bay of San S...

San Sebastian - City Hall

C: City Hall Of San Sebastián

by Martin Duckitt, 150 meters away

City Hall Of San Sebastián

D: Ayuntamiento

by mikelmgm, 160 meters away

El ayuntamiento de San Sebastián esta ubicado en la zona mas visitada de la ciudad junto a la parte v...


E: Portaletas

by mikelmgm, 170 meters away


F: Alderdi Eder (paseo maritimo)

by mikelmgm, 170 meters away

Alderdi Eder (paseo maritimo)

G: Muelle3

by mikelmgm, 180 meters away



by Martin Duckitt, 190 meters away

I: mio yes

by Hermes Guerra, 200 meters away

linda prueba

mio yes

J: old habour

by Florian Bertzbach, 220 meters away

in earlier times fisher boats were landing fish. Today tourists are walking around and the old fisher...

old habour

This panorama was taken in Northern Spain, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama