License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Anton van Tetering EXPERT Taken 16:06, 30/01/2009 - Views loading...



The World > Europe > Netherlands > Utrecht

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Utrecht


A: Pausdam snow covered

by Anton van Tetering, less than 10 meters away

Pausdam snow covered

B: Pandhof of the Dom church

by Anton van Tetering, 100 meters away

Pandhof of the Dom church

C: Utrecht - Pandhof / Kloostertuin

by Marco den Herder, 110 meters away

Utrecht - Pandhof / Kloostertuin

D: Paulusbridge over the Nieuwegracht

by Anton van Tetering, 130 meters away

Paulusbridge over the Nieuwegracht

E: Dom square Utrecht

by Caspar Vedral, 140 meters away

Panorama op het Domplein in Utrecht. De Domtoren is met 112 meter de hoogste toren van Nederland. Van...

Dom square Utrecht

F: Pieterskerkhof snow covered

by Anton van Tetering, 140 meters away

Pieterskerkhof snow covered

G: dom square snow covered

by Anton van Tetering, 140 meters away

dom square snow covered

H: Domplein, Utrecht

by Nick Gordon, 180 meters away

Domplein, Utrecht

I: Dom square snow covered

by Anton van Tetering, 180 meters away

Dom square snow covered

J: Dom Tower Utrecht the Netherlands

by Anton van Tetering, 200 meters away

View from the top of the 112 m high Dom tower in the centre of Utrecht. The Dom Tower was built betwe...

Dom Tower Utrecht the Netherlands

This panorama was taken in Utrecht, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama