Peninsula Kunna
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Dag Andersen EXPERT Taken 17:33, 23/06/2013 - Views loading...


Peninsula Kunna

The World > Europe > Norway

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down Kunna er ei halvøy i Meløy kommune i Nordland. Halvøya ligger nord i kommunen, nord for tettstedet Reipå, og er bare knyttet til fastlandet med den smale og lave Kunnvalen. Høyeste punkt på fjellet Kunna er 599 moh. Kunna var tidligere regnet som grensa mellom Salten (i nord) og Helgeland i sør. I dag regnes hele Meløy kommune administrativt med til Salten.

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Norway


A: Friendly bulls

by Dag Andersen, 750 meters away Kunna er ei halvøy i Meløy kommune i Nordland. Halvøy...

Friendly bulls

B: Uredd

by Dag Andersen, 4.1 km away


C: Mevik chapel

by Dag Andersen, 9.7 km away

Mevik chapel

D: Ørnes i Meløy

by Dag Andersen, 10.3 km away

Ørnes i Meløy

E: Ørnes Bygdemuseum

by Dag Andersen, 10.3 km away

Ørnes Bygdemuseum

F: midsummer evening in Storvika, Gildeskål

by Dag Andersen, 11.1 km away

midsummer evening in Storvika, Gildeskål

G: Storvik beach

by Dag Andersen, 11.5 km away

Storvik beach

H: Old and new road, Storvikskaret

by Dag Andersen, 12.9 km away

Old and new road, Storvikskaret

I: Vasdalsvik, Meløy

by Dag Andersen, 14.5 km away

Vasdalsvik, Meløy

J: Welcome to Grønøy

by Dag Andersen, 16.8 km away

Welcome to Grønøy

This panorama was taken in Norway, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama