Pjaca (People's square)
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Igor Adamec EXPERT Taken 12:28, 28/08/2011 - Views loading...


Pjaca (People's square)

The World > Europe > Croatia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

Main square in Split old town is officially named 'Narodni trg' and it could be translated as 'People's square'. More common name for this square, used by local inhabitants, is 'Pjaca' and that sounds very similar to the Italian word 'piazza' that means square.

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Croatia


A: Split, Narodni Trg

by Atila Bezdan, 10 meters away

Split, Narodni Trg

B: Split (Iron Gate)

by Armin Leuprecht, 20 meters away

Split (Iron Gate)

C: Kazaliste

by Darko Rom, 30 meters away


D: Kula

by Darko Rom, 30 meters away


E: Park

by Darko Rom, 30 meters away


F: Pjaca square

by Darko Rom, 30 meters away

Pjaca square

G: Split Old Town

by Igor Adamec, 70 meters away


Split Old Town

H: Split

by Armin Leuprecht, 80 meters away


I: Vocni square

by Darko Rom, 100 meters away

Vocni square

J: Voćni trg (Fruit Square)

by Igor Adamec, 100 meters away

Official name of this square in Split old town is 'Trg braće Radić' (Square of Radić brothers), and t...

Voćni trg (Fruit Square)

This panorama was taken in Croatia, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama