Poland Leżajsk Wystawa Czasowa
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy EXPERT Taken 20:55, 08/06/2009 - Views loading...


Poland Leżajsk Wystawa Czasowa

The World > Europe > Poland

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Poland


A: Poland Lezajsk Sala Konferencyjna Muzeum

by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy, 20 meters away

Poland Lezajsk Sala Konferencyjna Muzeum

B: poland lezajsk Muzeum Ziemi Lezajskiej Noca

by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy, 40 meters away

poland lezajsk Muzeum Ziemi Lezajskiej Noca


by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy, 40 meters away


by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy, 40 meters away


by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy, 40 meters away


by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy, 60 meters away

G: Poland Lezajsk galeria zabawkarstwa

by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy, 80 meters away

Poland Lezajsk galeria zabawkarstwa


by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy, 190 meters away

I: Poland Lezajsk rondo

by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy, 220 meters away

Poland Lezajsk rondo

J: lezajsk poland ohel elimelecha

by Pawel-Piotr-Jakubowscy, 420 meters away

lezajsk poland ohel elimelecha

This panorama was taken in Poland, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama