Promenade Veitshöchheim
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Volker S. Heckenberger EXPERT Taken 16:50, 14/01/2013 - Views loading...


Promenade Veitshöchheim

The World > Europe > Germany > Bavaria > Franconia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Franconia



by Volker S. Heckenberger, 30 meters away

B: Mainlände Veitshöchheim

by Volker S. Heckenberger, 40 meters away

Mainlände Veitshöchheim

C: Hochwasser Veitshöchheim 2010

by Volker S. Heckenberger, 50 meters away

Hochwasser Veitshöchheim 2010


by Volker S. Heckenberger, 130 meters away


by Volker S. Heckenberger, 220 meters away

F: Kirchstrasse Veitshöchheim

by Volker S. Heckenberger, 230 meters away

Kirchstrasse Veitshöchheim

G: Spielplatz Mainlände

by Volker S. Heckenberger, 230 meters away

Spielplatz Mainlände

H: Galerie Jung

by Volker S. Heckenberger, 230 meters away

Galerie Jung


by Volker S. Heckenberger, 240 meters away

J: Dreschplatz Veitshöchheim

by Volker S. Heckenberger, 240 meters away

Dreschplatz Veitshöchheim

This panorama was taken in Franconia

This is an overview of Franconia


Franconia (German: Franken) is a region of Germany comprising the northern parts of the modern state of Bavaria, a small part of southern Thuringia, and a region in northeastern Baden-Württemberg called Heilbronn-Franken. The Bavarian part is made up of the administrative regions of Lower Franconia (Unterfranken), Middle Franconia (Mittelfranken), and Upper Franconia (Oberfranken).

Franconia (like France) is named after the Germanic tribe of the Franks. This tribe played a major role after the breakdown of the Roman Empire and colonised large parts of medieval Europe.

Modern day Franconia comprises only a very tiny and rather remote part of the settlement area of the ancient Franks. In German, Franken is used for both modern day Franconians and the historic Franks, which leads to some confusion. The historic Frankish Empire, Francia, is actually the common precursor of the Low Countries, France and Germany. In 843 the Treaty of Verdun led to the partition of Francia into West Francia (modern day France), Middle Francia (from the Low Countries along the Rhine valley to northern Italy) and East Francia (modern day Germany). Frankreich, the German word for "France", and Frankrijk, the Dutch word for "France"; literally mean "the Frankish Empire".

Share this panorama