Puerta de la Luna, Catedral de Baeza

La Catedral de la Natividad de Nuestra Señora de Baeza (Jaén, España) se erige, según tradición histórica, en el solar de la antigua mezquita mayor o aljama de la ciudad, consagrada en el año 1147 para el culto cristiano por mandado del rey Alfonso VII bajo la advocación de San Isidoro. De nuevo mezquita poco tiempo después, no será hasta que el rey Fernando III reconquiste definitivamente la ciudad en 1227, cuando el edificio sea definitivamente consagrado como templo cristiano con el título de La Natividad de Nuestra Señora. Entre las catedrales andaluzas donde aún se celebra el culto católico es la de más larga trayectoria histórica. Desde 1931 está catalogada como Bien de Interés Cultural con la calificación de monumento.


Copyright: Manuel Portillo
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 9008x4504
Taken: 10/08/2012
Uploaded: 25/08/2012
Updated: 23/07/2014


Tags: church; cathedral; architecture; renaissance
comments powered by Disqus

Gipfel Tour d'Ai
Mario Caviedes Castrillo
Vlladolid pleace in plaza de España Seville, Spain
dieter kik
Buchen im Herbst Allee du Bourdonnel Quimper
David Lopes
St. Rita in Rio Grande do Norte - Brazil
Matt Mascheri
USS KIDD moored in the Mississippi River in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.
Heiner Straesser - derPanoramafotograf.com
Ayazin anatolia turkey
Alan McLean (Albiphotography)
Whitelee Wind Farm , Turbine 42 , Eaglesham Moor , Glasgow
Soko Aoki
Pashpatinath, Kathmandu, Nepal
DigitalProperties.ca - Bryan Groulx
Quincy Market Colonnade
Daniel da Costa Gomes Martins
Rua Grande - São Luís (MA)
Özgür Örsoğlu
Eski Ankara Manzarası
Martin Broomfield
Krakatoa Eruption, Sunda Strait West Java
More About Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights. In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. Text by Steve Smith.