The ruins of the roman colony Ulpia Traiana Augusta Dacica Sarmizegetusa can be found 40km away from the dacian capital of Sarmizegetusa Regia, on the romanian national road 68 between Haţeg and Caransebeş, in the comune of Sarmizegetusa - here. Across the street there is also the museum that hosts many of the archaeological findings.

The city was founded by the governor Decimus Terentius Scaurianus and it became the capital of the Dacian Colony. The flourishing city had a strategic position, beeing at the border of the Roman Empire. The romans suffered attacks by the free dacians, the marcomanni, the goths and during the rule of Emperor Aurelian the army and the officials retreated across the Danube. The city continued its existence with a smaller population, living in the abandoned palaces and defending themselves against the migrating people from inside the fortified amphitheatre, probably until the invasion of the Huns.

There are still diggings underway at the site, and among the ruins one can see the amphitheatre, the gladiator school, temples dedicated to different gods, such as Nemesis, Silvanus, Liber Pater, Aesculap and Hygieia, the Big Temple dedicated to an unknown god, the glass blowers' workshops, the financial procurator's office, the thermae and the forum.

View More »

Copyright: Michael Pop
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 6000x3000
Taken: 21/09/2009
Uploaded: 22/09/2009
Updated: 02/03/2015


Tags: sarmizegetusa; roman; empire; romans; romania; temples; temple; digging; ruins; colony; dacians
comments powered by Disqus
More About Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights. In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. Text by Steve Smith.