Senecke leto 2012 - I
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Zoltan Duray EXPERT Taken 17:22, 16/06/2012 - Views loading...


Senecke leto 2012 - I

The World > Europe > Slovakia

Tags: festival

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Slovakia


A: Senecke leto 2012 - VIII

by Zoltan Duray, 30 meters away

Senecke leto 2012 - VIII

B: Senecke leto 2012 - II

by Zoltan Duray, 50 meters away

Senecke leto 2012 - II

C: Fireworks Senec 2010

by Miroslav Pochyba, 60 meters away

Fireworks Senec 2010

D: Senecke leto 2012 - VII

by Zoltan Duray, 70 meters away

Senecke leto 2012 - VII

E: Senecke leto 2012 - III

by Zoltan Duray, 100 meters away

Senecke leto 2012 - III

F: Great summer carnival - Senec

by Zoltan Duray, 150 meters away

Great summer carnival - Senec

G: Karneval 2

by Zoltan Duray, 150 meters away

Karneval 2

I: Senecké leto 2011 - Minidisko s maskotom

by Zoltan Duray, 160 meters away

Senecké leto 2011 - Minidisko s maskotom

J: Slnecne jazera v Senci v zime

by Zoltan Duray, 160 meters away

Slnecne jazera v Senci v zime

This panorama was taken in Slovakia, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama