Siena, Italy - Piazza Del Campo

Resembling a colossal, medieval bathroom sink, the sloping Piazza del Campo has been Siena's civic and social center ever since it was staked out by the Council of Nine in the mid-14th century. It's pie-piece paving design is divided into nine sectors to represent the number of members of the ruling council.

- Lonely Planet, "Tuscany & Umbria"

Copyright: Randy Myers
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 7488x3744
Uploaded: 28/05/2009
Updated: 06/10/2014


Tags: siena; italy; piazza del campo; tuscany
comments powered by Disqus

Carsten Arenz
Siena - Piazza del Campo
Wojciech Sadlej
Piazza del Campo
Carsten Arenz
Siena - Torre del Mangia
Chris Ellenbogen
Siena Drain
Carsten Lissack
Piazza Il Campo
Michael V. Rasmussen
Piazza Del Campo, Siena
Sergey Kalinin
Siena, Piazza Del Campo
Karl Heinz Eisele
Siena piazza del campo
Uwe Buecher
Il Campo, Siena
Carsten Arenz
Siena - Piazza del Campo 3
Carsten T. Rees
Siena, Piazza del Campo - Location of the Palio di Siena, Palazzo Pubblico and Torre del Mangia
Carsten Arenz
Siena - Piazza il Campo Fountain
Erik Bjers
Petra Jordan More From The Canyons
Erik Bjers
The Courthouse at Petra, Wadi Musa, Jordan
You Changyeol
Andrey Litvinov
First Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko panoramic
zeljko soletic
Appartements Napoléon III, Grand Salon
Robert Sedrak
Chris Ellenbogen
San Marco Pigeons
Gazi Orhan Bey Mosque-Orhangazi
Willy Kaemena
Syria Power Plant (7-2006)
zeljko soletic
Viewing from the second floor of the Eiffel Tower
David Burton
Upper level of Sanhsia Tsu Shi Taoist Temple in New Taipei City, Taiwan
yunzen liu
Dajiuhu Lake Wetland Park 6 Shennongjia Hubei China—— No. one Lake in the Dajiuhu Lake town
Randy Myers
Le Mont St. Michel - Terrasse de L'ouest
Randy Myers
Duncannon Ireland
Randy Myers
Angoville Au Plain 2
Randy Myers
Villisca Ax Murder House - Attic 1
Randy Myers
Arc de Triomphe
Randy Myers
Iowa Cubs - Principal Park
Randy Myers
Villisca Ax Murder House - Attic Closet
Randy Myers
Iowa Events Center - Wells Fargo Arena
Randy Myers
Castroncello, Italy - Vacation Villa
Randy Myers
Eiffel Tower - View from Champ de Mars
Randy Myers
Villisca Ax Murder House - Master Bedroom
Randy Myers
Villisca Ax Murder House - Attic 2
More About Tuscany

The Tuscany, one of the most beautiful Italian regions, is known throughout the world for its Landscapes and for the Works of Art that it houses (It is the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance). Six localities have been designated World Heritage Sites: the Historical Center of Florence, Siena, San Gimignano and Pienza, the Square of the Cathedral of Pisa with the Leaning Tower and the Val d'Orcia. It is in the central Italy and borders with Emilia Romagna (north), Marche and Umbria (east) and Lazio (South). The West coast is bathed from the Ligurian and Tyrrhenian Sea; here we can find the islands of the Tuscan archipelago including the island of Elba. The regional capital is Florence and the other provinces are: Arezzo, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato and Siena.