Summit Rakon in Tatra mountains
License license
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Petr Kolčář EXPERT Taken 15:00, 30/10/2010 - Views loading...


Summit Rakon in Tatra mountains

The World > Europe > Slovakia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

Rakon - 1876 m. The main peak in the Western Tatras ridge known locally as Rohace. Instead of taking the trip to the neighboring peaks and sharp Volovec and Ostry Rohac. The easiest approach, about an hour walk, is Rohác valley from the Tatliak lake. From the top is a gorgeous view of all the major peaks Rohace.

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Slovakia


A: na szlaku

by Maciej G. Szling, 160 meters away

na szlaku

B: Rakoń 1879 m n.p.m.

by Maciej G. Szling, 340 meters away

Rakoń 1879 m n.p.m.

C: Szlak na Wołowiec

by Maciej G. Szling, 370 meters away

Szlak na Wołowiec

D: szlak na Wołowiec

by Maciej G. Szling, 460 meters away

szlak na Wołowiec

E: Na Szlaku

by Maciej G. Szling, 580 meters away

Na Szlaku

F: Wołowiec 2064 m n.p.m.

by Maciej G. Szling, 670 meters away

Wołowiec 2064 m n.p.m.

G: Dolina Wyżnia Chochołowska

by Maciej G. Szling, 670 meters away

Dolina Wyżnia Chochołowska

H: Wołowiec

by Maciej G. Szling, 690 meters away


I: Tatliak Lake In Rohace West Tatras (SVK)

by Cibula Vincent, 830 meters away

Tatliak Lake In Rohace West Tatras (SVK)

J: Rakon mountain,west Tatras,Slovakia

by Petr Kolčář, 910 meters away

Sunset on Mount Rakon - 1876 m. West Tatras,Slovakia.Panorama mountains Volovec, Ostry Rohac, Placlivo.

Rakon mountain,west Tatras,Slovakia

This panorama was taken in Slovakia, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama