Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Stefan Huber EXPERT Taken 15:38, 18/11/2012 - Views loading...


The World > Europe > Germany > Bavaria > Franconia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

Wiki: Der Altmühlsee liegt in Bayern (Mittelfranken) rund 44 km (Luftlinie) südwestlich von Nürnberg im Landkreis Weißenburg-Gunzenhausen. Er gehört mit mehreren großen Seen in der Umgebung zum Fränkischen Seenland.

comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Franconia



by Stefan Huber, 720 meters away


by Stefan Huber, 960 meters away

C: Kirche St. Michael

by Reiner Pössnicker, 5.6 km away

Kirche St. Michael

D: Pfofeld

by Reiner Pössnicker, 8.1 km away


E: Spielberg

by Reiner Pössnicker, 9.7 km away


F: Steinerne Rinne Bei Wolfsbronn

by Reiner Pössnicker, 14.1 km away

Steinerne Rinne Bei Wolfsbronn

G: Windkraftpark Degersheim

by Reiner Pössnicker, 14.4 km away

Windkraftpark Degersheim

H: Spalt

by Reiner Pössnicker, 14.8 km away


I: Linde bei Markt Berolzheim

by Reiner Pössnicker, 14.9 km away

Linde bei Markt Berolzheim

J: Hesselberg Sunrise

by Jens Vischer, 16.2 km away

An early summer morning on the Osterwiese on the Hesselberg, one of the seven Bavarian Summits.One ca...

Hesselberg Sunrise

This panorama was taken in Franconia

This is an overview of Franconia


Franconia (German: Franken) is a region of Germany comprising the northern parts of the modern state of Bavaria, a small part of southern Thuringia, and a region in northeastern Baden-Württemberg called Heilbronn-Franken. The Bavarian part is made up of the administrative regions of Lower Franconia (Unterfranken), Middle Franconia (Mittelfranken), and Upper Franconia (Oberfranken).

Franconia (like France) is named after the Germanic tribe of the Franks. This tribe played a major role after the breakdown of the Roman Empire and colonised large parts of medieval Europe.

Modern day Franconia comprises only a very tiny and rather remote part of the settlement area of the ancient Franks. In German, Franken is used for both modern day Franconians and the historic Franks, which leads to some confusion. The historic Frankish Empire, Francia, is actually the common precursor of the Low Countries, France and Germany. In 843 the Treaty of Verdun led to the partition of Francia into West Francia (modern day France), Middle Francia (from the Low Countries along the Rhine valley to northern Italy) and East Francia (modern day Germany). Frankreich, the German word for "France", and Frankrijk, the Dutch word for "France"; literally mean "the Frankish Empire".

Share this panorama