Grześ 1653 m n.p.m.
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Maciej G. Szling EXPERT Taken 09:33, 06/06/2010 - Views loading...


Grześ 1653 m n.p.m.

The World > Europe > Slovakia

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Slovakia


A: Tatra Mountains, Grześ 2

by Ursula & David Molenda, less than 10 meters away

Tatra Mountains, Grześ 2

B: Grześ 1653 m n.p.m

by Maciej G. Szling, 10 meters away

Grześ 1653 m n.p.m

C: Grzes 1653 m n.p.m.

by Maciej G. Szling, 100 meters away

Grzes 1653 m n.p.m.

D: Okolice Grzesia

by Maciej G. Szling, 110 meters away

Okolice Grzesia

E: Grześ, Tatry

by Ursula & David Molenda, 130 meters away

Grześ, Tatry

F: Okolice Grzesia

by Maciej G. Szling, 160 meters away

Okolice Grzesia

G: na szlaku

by Maciej G. Szling, 180 meters away

na szlaku

H: Tatra Mountains, Grześ 3

by Ursula & David Molenda, 190 meters away

Tatra Mountains, Grześ 3

I: Łuczniańska Przełęcz

by Maciej G. Szling, 330 meters away

Łuczniańska Przełęcz

J: Na szlaku

by Maciej G. Szling, 740 meters away

Na szlaku

This panorama was taken in Slovakia, Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama