Zvornik Medieval Fortress Kula Grad
Bosnia and Herzegovina

The Old Town of Zvornik (Djurdjevgrad or Kula Grad) was a single entity although it differed in three parts: Upper, Middle and Lower Town. Upper Town is situated on the plateau of the hill which is shaped ring and above the cliffs which are cascading fall towards the Drina River. Lower Town is located by The Drina River and by the road leading it. Middle Town is situated in the space between the Lower and Upper Town, starting form the Old Castle (Great Tower) and down to the cliffs of the Lower Town.

At the beginning of 15th century under the Zvornik fortress (outside the walls of the old town) was formed the Town outskirts "Podvoznik" (today Zvornik) which was risen the most during the Medieval period (before the Ottoman Empire) or rather in the first half of the 15th century. Outskirts of Zvornik was known borough in The Middle Ages with over 2,000 citizens and counted in a medium-sized cities in Europe, which according to contemporary categorization count between 2,000 and 10,000 inhabitants.

Copyright: Sasa Dragojevic
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 10000x5000
Taken: 14/01/2011
Uploaded: 17/01/2011
Updated: 08/03/2015


Tags: fortress; medieval; monument; ruins; fortification; heritage
comments powered by Disqus
More About Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights. In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. Text by Steve Smith.