Main–Danube Canal - Moehrendorfer Brücke
License license
Loading ...

Foto panoramica di Jan Koehn PRO EXPERT MAESTRO Scattata 14:07, 23/10/2011 - Views loading...


Main–Danube Canal - Moehrendorfer Brücke

世界 > Europe > Germany > Bavaria > Franconia

  • mi piace / non mi piace
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down


The Rhine–Main–Danube Canal (German: Rhein-Main-Donau-Kanal; also called Main-Danube Canal, RMD Canal or Europa Canal), located in Bavaria, Germany, connects the Main and the Danube rivers across the European Watershed, running from Bamberg via Nuremberg to Kelheim. The canal connects the North Sea and Atlantic Ocean to the Black Sea, providing a navigable artery between the Rhine delta (at Rotterdam in the Netherlands) and the Danube Delta in eastern Romania. The present canal was completed in 1992 and is 171 km (106 mi) long.

comments powered by Disqus

Immagini nelle vicinanze di Franconia


A: Brücke in Möhrendorf im Winter

di Stefan Huber, meno di 10 metri di distanza

Brücke in Möhrendorf im Winter


di Stefan Huber, 760 metri di distanza


di Stefan Huber, 760 metri di distanza


di Stefan Huber, 790 metri di distanza

E: Waterwheel "Schmiedsrad"

di Jan Koehn, 800 metri di distanza

Waterwheel "Schmiedsrad"

F: Autumn forest

di Jan Koehn, 1.7 km di distanza

Autumn forest

G: Rhine-Main-Danube Canal - lock-off 2

di Jan Koehn, 2.0 km di distanza

Rhine-Main-Danube Canal - lock-off 2

H: Rhine-Main-Danube Canal - lock-off 3

di Jan Koehn, 2.0 km di distanza

Rhine-Main-Danube Canal - lock-off 3

I: Rhine-Main-Danube Canal - lock-off 1

di Jan Koehn, 2.3 km di distanza

Rhine-Main-Danube Canal - lock-off 1


di Stefan Huber, 2.8 km di distanza

Questo panorama è stato scattato in Franconia

Questa è una vista generale di Franconia


Franconia (German: Franken) is a region of Germany comprising the northern parts of the modern state of Bavaria, a small part of southern Thuringia, and a region in northeastern Baden-Württemberg called Heilbronn-Franken. The Bavarian part is made up of the administrative regions of Lower Franconia (Unterfranken), Middle Franconia (Mittelfranken), and Upper Franconia (Oberfranken).

Franconia (like France) is named after the Germanic tribe of the Franks. This tribe played a major role after the breakdown of the Roman Empire and colonised large parts of medieval Europe.

Modern day Franconia comprises only a very tiny and rather remote part of the settlement area of the ancient Franks. In German, Franken is used for both modern day Franconians and the historic Franks, which leads to some confusion. The historic Frankish Empire, Francia, is actually the common precursor of the Low Countries, France and Germany. In 843 the Treaty of Verdun led to the partition of Francia into West Francia (modern day France), Middle Francia (from the Low Countries along the Rhine valley to northern Italy) and East Francia (modern day Germany). Frankreich, the German word for "France", and Frankrijk, the Dutch word for "France"; literally mean "the Frankish Empire".

Condividi questo panorama