Holy Trinity Square, Požega, Croatia

Požega is city in north-east Croatia. Its baroque urban core, which is under enhanced protection, is a significant cultural monument.

Particularly notable is the Holy Trinity square. With its irregular triangular shape in whose centrum is Baroque statue of the Holy Trinity makes the urban core of Požega unique.
The Holy Trinity square is formed in the west and partly in the north with one-storey buildings with arches, while the Gothic Church of St Lawrence, the Jesuit College and the Franciscan monastery with the church of the Holy Spirit are in the south of the square. On the west side there is the old Town Hall and the museum, and the old High School building is located on the east side. At the time of Empress Maria Theresa, due to planned architectural action, the city got its baroque character. Baroque one-storey buildings with beautiful arches were probably built by masters from northern Italy.


View More »

Copyright: Hrvoje Mikolčević
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 13330x6665
Taken: 22/08/2012
Caricate: 13/08/2014
Aggiornato: 19/08/2014
Numero di visualizzazioni:


Tags: city; night; lights; square; traffic; cars; street; baroque
comments powered by Disqus

More About Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights. In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. Text by Steve Smith.