Monastery of Agios Dimitrios, Avgo
License license
Loading ...

パノラマを撮影したのは Kostas Kaltsas EXPERT 撮影日 10:52, 19/08/2010 - Views loading...


Monastery of Agios Dimitrios, Avgo

The World > Europe > Greece

  • いいね! / ダメ
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down

The Monastery of Avgo

comments powered by Disqus



A: Didima, Argolida

Kostas Kaltsas作, 5.6kmかなた

Inside the crater of Didima

Didima, Argolida

B: Didima, Argolida

Kostas Kaltsas作, 5.7kmかなた

Inside the crater of Didima

Didima, Argolida

C: Didima, Argolida

Kostas Kaltsas作, 5.7kmかなた

Inside the crater of Didima

Didima, Argolida

D: Ἐπίδαυρος (Epidavros) Theatre

Jonas Boenhoff作, 11.0kmかなた

Ἐπίδαυρος (Epidavros) Theatre

E: Epidaurus ancient theatre

Roberto Scavino作, 11.0kmかなた

Epidaurus ancient theatre

F: Ermioni

Kostas Kaltsas作, 17.5kmかなた

Ermioni, the view from Agios Gerasimos


G: Thermisi

Kostas Kaltsas作, 18.6kmかなた

Thw view from the castle of Thermisi, Ermionida. Hydra island on the background


H: Epidaurus, monastery of Saint Taxiarches

Roberto Scavino作, 19.4kmかなた

Epidaurus, monastery of Saint Taxiarches

I: Tolo

Iraklis Kavouklis作, 22.9kmかなた

Tolo has grown into a successful tourist resort from a small fishing village while retaining its trad...


J: Spetses

Kostas Kaltsas作, 26.3kmかなた


このパノラマはGreece, Europeで撮影されました


Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.