Alegoria czterech pór roku
License license
Loading ...

Panoramische foto door Leszek Cuper EXPERT Genomen 11:25, 01/07/2008 - Views loading...


Alegoria czterech pór roku

The World > Europe > Poland

  • Vind ik leuk / Vind ik niet leuk
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Panorama's in de omgeving van Poland


A: Studnia św. Wojciecha

door Leszek Cuper, 30 hier vandaan

Studnia św. Wojciecha

B: Kościół "Na Górce"

door Leszek Cuper, 40 hier vandaan

Kościół "Na Górce"

E: Collegium Maius - posąg Agnieszki Osieckiej

door Leszek Cuper, 80 hier vandaan

Collegium Maius - posąg Agnieszki Osieckiej

F: Collegium Maius - posąg Czesława Niemena

door Leszek Cuper, 80 hier vandaan

Collegium Maius - posąg Czesława Niemena

G: Opolski Rynek

door Leszek Cuper, 190 hier vandaan

Opolski Rynek

H: Widok z wieży ratuszowej

door Leszek Cuper, 210 hier vandaan

Widok z wieży ratuszowej

I: Opole Market Square

door Leszek Cuper, 210 hier vandaan

Opole Market Square

J: The Church of the Holy Trinity

door Leszek Cuper, 240 hier vandaan

The Church of the Holy Trinity

Dit panorama is genomen in Poland, Europe

Dit is een overzicht van Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Deel dit panorama