City Museum of Split
License license
Loading ...

Panoramische foto door Darko Rom EXPERT Genomen 11:31, 21/09/2008 - Views loading...


City Museum of Split

The World > Europe > Croatia

Tags: museum, split

  • Vind ik leuk / Vind ik niet leuk
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Panorama's in de omgeving van Croatia


A: St. Duje Cathedral

door Igor Adamec, 70 hier vandaan

Cathedral of St. Duje in Split

St. Duje Cathedral

B: Split (Golden Gate)

door Armin Leuprecht, 70 hier vandaan

Split (Golden Gate)

C: View over Split

door Armin Leuprecht, 70 hier vandaan

View over Split

D: Split, Diocletian's Palace

door Atila Bezdan, 90 hier vandaan

Split, Diocletian's Palace

F: Cathedral of Split

door Armin Leuprecht, 100 hier vandaan

Cathedral of Split

G: At Diocletian's Palace HDR

door Saulius Baublys, 110 hier vandaan

Diocletian's Palace (Croatian: Dioklecijanova palača, pronounced [diɔklɛt͡sijǎːnɔʋa pǎlat͡ʃa]) is a b...

At Diocletian's Palace HDR

H: Vestibul

door Darko Rom, 120 hier vandaan

Vestibul in Diocletian palace


I: Diocletian palace

door Darko Rom, 130 hier vandaan

Diocletian palace

J: ethnography museum

door Darko Rom, 130 hier vandaan

ethnography museum

Dit panorama is genomen in Croatia, Europe

Dit is een overzicht van Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Deel dit panorama