Split (Golden Gate)
License license
Loading ...

Panoramische foto door Armin Leuprecht EXPERT Genomen 14:14, 24/09/2013 - Views loading...


Split (Golden Gate)

The World > Europe > Croatia

Tags: city, gate, monument

  • Vind ik leuk / Vind ik niet leuk
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Panorama's in de omgeving van Croatia


A: City Museum of Split

door Darko Rom, 70 hier vandaan

City Museum of Split

B: View over Split

door Armin Leuprecht, 130 hier vandaan

View over Split

C: St. Duje Cathedral

door Igor Adamec, 130 hier vandaan

Cathedral of St. Duje in Split

St. Duje Cathedral

D: Split, Diocletian's Palace

door Atila Bezdan, 140 hier vandaan

Split, Diocletian's Palace

E: Pjaca (People's square)

door Igor Adamec, 140 hier vandaan

Main square in Split old town is officially named 'Narodni trg' and it could be translated as 'People...

Pjaca (People's square)

F: Split, 360 view from the Cathedral of Saint Domnius

door Atila Bezdan, 150 hier vandaan

Split, 360 view from the Cathedral of Saint Domnius

G: Split (Iron Gate)

door Armin Leuprecht, 150 hier vandaan

Split (Iron Gate)

H: Split, Narodni Trg

door Atila Bezdan, 150 hier vandaan

Split, Narodni Trg

I: Kazaliste

door Darko Rom, 170 hier vandaan


J: Kula

door Darko Rom, 170 hier vandaan


Dit panorama is genomen in Croatia, Europe

Dit is een overzicht van Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Deel dit panorama