Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Distribuie aceasta panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Citeste mai mult
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contacteaza-ne
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contacteaza-ne
License this Panorama

Enhances advertising, editorial, film, video, TV, Websites, and mobile experiences.



Marijampole Basilica of St Michael the Archangel

Characterized by classicist and neo-baroque features the Basilica of St Michael the Archangel is two-towered, cross-shaped church with three naves. Originally built in 1824 by the Marian Fathers who settled in the area around 1750 the present appearanse of the Church reflects several expansions and other changes. In 1992 it was given the title of minor Basilica. In 1934 the remains of Jurgis Matulaitis (1871-1927) were brought from Kaunas Cathedral and officially re-interred in the Basilica. The Chapel on the right side of the Basilica is dedicated to Matulaitis who Pope John Paul II beatified in 1987. He is the only Lithuanian declared "holy" by the Church in modern times. Piligrims from both Lithuania and abroad visit the Basilica. Crowds gather in Marijampole each July for an eight-day celebration of the feast of the beatified Jurgis Matulaitis, which is held on 12 July.

Copyright: Dj Maryxa Mc
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 10000x5000
Taken: 09/04/2010
Uploaded: 16/04/2010
Actualizat: 04/03/2015


Tags: marijampole; basilica; michael; archangel; matulaitis; lithuania; maryxa
comments powered by Disqus
More About Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights. In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. Text by Steve Smith.