The house at Kūrmājas prospekts 16 is Liepāja Museum - showing the history of Liepāja city and region through ancient and unique exhibits. In the beginning of the 20th century two societies were engaged in collecting museum objects in Liepaja: the Liepaja Antiquity society created by the Germans in 1911 and the Liepaja Latvian society, that in 1912 acquired an official permission for beginning of collecting objects for the future museum. When in 1922 the Kurzemes Museum society was established, it took the responsibility for doing everything in order to create a museum in Liepaja by uniting various societies’ funds. The town museum was opened on the 30th November 1924. In 1935 the museum moved from its first dwelling in Jana Cakstes Square into the respectable edifice, built in 1901, in Kurmajas Avenue 16, where it is situated also nowadays. The mansion’s roof is rather unusual considering Latvian architecture, since it is made of ornamentally placed black and red tiles.
Liepaja is a beautiful and versatile city that unites the easy and uneasy heritage of the recent centuries, freedom and air of a seaport and pride for so many talented musicians and composers that came from here.