9 km to the west, on a slope of a steep hill, is an oasis with the ever-green garden around it. Since 1800 a huge cypress stands as its guard and custodian. The katholikon of the monastery is adorned by a hagiography revealed in August 1986, picturing the founder Jonas with the monastery in his hand. It is a building of 1470-80, and includes a tower, the cells, warehouses and other rooms around the katholikon. It was restored in 1703 and 1824 respectively. The wooden-carved iconostasis is of the 18th century. The pebbled yard was constructed in 1843. Professor Charis Koutelakis who has carried out extensive research in the island does not exclude the hypothesis that maybe the monastery was built with material coming from an ancient temple. And as the existence of a temple of Poseidon in the island is being discussed - documented by an inscription and a reference by Strabo - this could be the ideal place for the temple. Aghios Pandeleimon is the protector of the island.