Nestled along the banks of the Wallkill river in New Paltz is a series of stone houses dating back to the late 1600's. The Huguenots, originally from France, settled the area after fleeing both France and Belgium from persecution.
The French Church was originally built prior in 1683, and then replaced with a more permanent stone building in 1717. What stands now is a reconstruction of the stone church built in 1972. Inside, an interesting design places the pulpit in the center of the sanctuary so that everyone was equally close to the pastor.